Skip to content ↓

Computing National Curriculum

Key Stage 1

During key stage 1, pupils will be taught to understand what algorithms are, how they are implemented as programs on digital devices; and that programs execute by following precise and unambiguous instructions. They begin to create and debug simple programs and use logical reasoning to predict the behaviour of these simple programs. They use technology purposefully to create, organise, store, manipulate and retrieve digital content. They recognise common uses of information technology beyond school. They use technology safely and respectfully, keeping personal information private; identify where to go for help and support when they have concerns about content or contact on the internet or other online technologies.

The Computing key stage 1 curriculum consists of:

·         Understanding technology

·         Programming

·         Digital literacy

·         E-safety

Key Stage 2

During key stage 2 pupils will design, write and debug programs that accomplish specific goals, including controlling or simulating physical systems; solve problems by decomposing them into smaller parts. They use sequence, selection, and repetition in programs; work with variables and various forms of input and output. They use logical reasoning to explain how some simple algorithms work and to detect and correct errors in algorithms and programs. They understand computer networks including the internet; how they can provide multiple services, such as the world wide web; and the opportunities they offer for communication and collaboration. They use search technologies effectively, appreciate how results are selected and ranked, and be discerning in evaluating digital content. They be select, use and combine a variety of software (including internet services) on a range of digital devices to design and create a range of programs, systems and content that accomplish given goals, including collecting, analysing, evaluating and presenting data and information. They use technology safely, respectfully and responsibly; recognise acceptable/unacceptable behaviour; identify a range of ways to report concerns about content and contact.

The Computing key stage 2 curriculum consists of:

· Understanding technology

· Programming

· Digital literacy

· E-safety