Home Page

Challenge words

Autumn term challenge spelling words

Thursday 9th September 2021

Challenge word = questionnaire (noun: a list of questions; survey)

Thursday 16th September 2021

Challenge word = unconscious (adjective: not conscious; without awareness)

Thursday 23rd September 2021

Challenge word = precocious (adjective: unusually mature, especially in mental development)

Thursday 30th September 2021

Challenge word = liaison (noun: a person who maintains a connection between people or groups)

Thursday 7th October 2021

Challenge word = surveillance (noun: continuous observation of a person, place, or activity in order to gather information)

Thursday 14th October 2021

Challenge word = chrysanthemum (noun: a widely cultivated plant with brightly coloured showy flower heads)

Thursday 21st October 2021

Challenge word = idiosyncrasy (noun: a tendency, habit or mannerism that is peculiar to an individual; a quirk)

Thursday 28th October 2021

No test due to half term.

Thursday 4th November 2021

Challenge word =chauffeur (noun: a person hired to drive a private automobile or limousine)

Thursday 11th November 2021

Challenge word = onomatopoeia (noun: the formation of a word by imitation of a sound of the noise or action described, such as hisshonk, or meow)

Thursday 18th November 2021

Challenge word = conscientious (adjective: careful, particular, taking great care)

Thursday 25th November 2021

Challenge word = demitasse (noun: small coffee cup)

Thursday 2nd December 2021

Challenge word = vengeance (noun: punishment inflicted for a wrong done to oneself or another person; revenge)

Thursday 9th December 2021

Challenge word = prospicience (noun: the act of looking forward; foresight)

Thursday 16th December 2021

Challenge word = acquiesce (verb: to accept as inevitable; to comply passively)

Spring term challenge spelling words

Thursday 6th January 2022

Challenge word =malfeasance (noun: conduct by a public official that violates the public trust or is against the law)

Thursday 13th January 2022

Challenge word =irascible (adjective: irritable, quick-tempered)

Thursday 20th January 2022

Challenge word = antediluvian (adjective: 1. of or relating to the period before the Biblical flood  2. old-fashioned; antiquated)

Thursday 27th January 2022

Challenge word = foudroyant (adjective: sudden and overwhelming; stunning)

Thursday 3rd February 2022

Challenge word = eudemonic (adjective: pertaining to conducive to happiness)

Thursday 10th February 2022

Challenge word = logorrhea (noun: excessive and often incoherent talkativeness)

Thursday 17th February 2022

No test due to half term.

Thursday 24th February 2022

Challenge word = pterodactyl (noun: any of various extinct flying reptiles, having no feathers)

Thursday 3rd March 2022

Challenge word = stichomythia (noun: dialogue, especially a dispute, delivered in alternating lines)

Thursday 10th March 2022

Challenge word = feuilleton (noun: part of a European newspaper or magazine with content designed to entertain the reader)

Thursday 17th March 2022

Challenge word = milquetoast (noun: a timid, unassertive, or apologetic person)

Thursday 24th March 2022

Challenge word = chrematistic (adjective: of or relating to making money)

Thursday 31st March 2022

Challenge word =

Summer term challenge spelling words

 

Thursday 21st April 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 28th April 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 5th May 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 12th May 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 19th May 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 26th May 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 2nd June 2022

No test due to half term.

Thursday 9th June 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 16th June 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 23rd June 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 30th June 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 7th July 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 14th July 2022

Challenge word =

Thursday 21st July 2022

Challenge word =


  • The All Saints Inter-Church Academy Trust is a charitable company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales (registered number 8454781)